About the Azores

9 Islands – A geopark

In the immensity of the blue Atlantic Ocean Mother Nature created a land full of natural beauty and unexplored: The Azores.

The Azores is an archipelago that lies on the ocean North Atlantic between the 36th and 43 north latitude and 25 and 31 west longitude. Part of the biogeographic region of Macaronesia, consists of nine main islands divided into three groups: Western Group - Corvo and Flores, the Central Group - Faial, Graciosa, Pico, Sao Jorge and Terceira and the eastern group consists of the islands of Santa Maria and São Miguel. All the islands are of volcanic origin.

The east Santa Maria with its clear and warm sandy beaches and São Miguel, the largest island, with its lakes and hot springs. In the central group of Terceira, São Jorge, Pico, Faial and Graciosa have gracefully into the blue sea where whales and dolphins lurk making the delight of visitors. In the western group, the island of Flores dazzles us with the beauty of its natural waterfalls and ponds dug by volcanoes. Corvo, the smallest island, has at its center a beautiful large crater that attracts species of birds coming not only from the European continent, but also in the Americas. All the islands have beautiful and green landscapes at any time of year. The islands are also very flowery and mainly found azaleas and hydrangeas in every corner of the islands.
The most important crops are tea, tobacco, potato and sugar beet. The islands have many features and, as might be expected, people use a very important: the sea. Then they bring a wide variety of fish thus making the delight of lovers of a good plate of fish. These are the Azores, nine islands, nine small worlds where the beauty of the islands and friendliness of the locals is shared by all. "Trails in the Azores": Whether you are a lover quiet walks or an adrenaline junkie the Azores have more than 60 walking routes with all the conditions to walk safely. Be adventurous and discover the places of each island.